top of page

Unexpected Company by Kylee Graham


Unexpected Company by Kylee Graham The less I have to do the more tired I am with little sleep to find I should have seen this coming but it’s been years since I had a guest for dinner that I had mistaken her invitation as simple pleasantries beckoning toward lost afternoons in June when we would try and sunbathe too early in the season to ever feel golden misremembered memories and hazy mornings filled with longing for easier somethings curled into our fists what else could it be during social distancing I didn’t see her until she was at the table stirring her hunger with the spoon from my grandmother I hadn’t even put the chicken in the oven yet mashed the potatoes or fried the onions my hair was still in a bun face half done wholly unprepared to entertain estranged lovers we’d forgotten the names of I un-welcomed my own living room once I showed her the door the curtains turned their backs on the scene that unfolded the wine glasses looked away the lampshades stood as bystanders while she— dug her heels into the carpet tore the banister off of the stairs and said I am not going anywhere far too long I’ve been gone and the ones you love will always come home even if we’re unwanted especially when we’re unwanted -unexpected company



 


The Author


Kylee Graham Kylee Graham (she/her), is a feminist poet, and activist currently located in PEI, Canada. She is passionate about addressing gender based violence, social inequality, and collective healing. Her work has been published in the literary journal Laurels and Bells, Beyond Words Literary Journal, Headline Poetry and Press, and The Sanctuary Magazine. Check her out on instagram @k.gpoetry_ !

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page