top of page

Torrents of Me by Ana Surguladze

Updated: Dec 17, 2021


I’m a peaceful hurricane and the safest nuclear weapon,

a drought in the desert,

and a flood in the ocean.

I’m the sun that shines but never burns your skin,

A drunk driver - who comes out at night

And pretends she had lost the keys.

I’m a love junkie,

living with a constant need to give love

and the constant worry of receiving it back.

I’m insomnia that sings you to sleep,

and a lullaby that wakes you before the sunrise.

I’m me and I’m not me.

So, people tend to run, so, people tend to stay.

Call me a waterfall of feelings and swim under it,

rappel down, scream, laugh, but don’t fear me.

I told you, I’m a harmless grenade,

a useless machine gun, and a self-destructive bomb.

I’m not capable of hurting you.

Don’t you know? I will never explode


 

The Author


Ana Surguladze Ana is a nineteen-year-old student who has been going through some turning points of her life. One them is realizing that while fighting daily pressures of life, the only thing she doesn’t have to fight for is poetry. It flows from everywhere and she has no trouble catching it.


Poet's Commentary Torrents of me- This was the first poem I ever wrote and inspiration for it came from the unreasonable, paradoxical feeling of being fragile and powerful at the same time. It was mainly a manifestation of how I wanted and could hurt some people in my life but would never actually do it.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page