top of page

The Body of Light by David Leo Sirois

Updated: Jun 22, 2020




Dearest, I’ll seek the secret to liberation,

as soon as this bed lets go of me.


In a dream, I waited in line

for communion at Christmastime.

When I reached the beaming priest,

he held no white wafer,

& never said “The body of Christ.”

Instead, he gestured broadly around us,

& firmly, warmly whispered

“The body of Light.

This is the body of Light.”

The longest journey begins

at the base of the spine,

& ends at the crown of the head ~

seventh heaven, God-intoxication.

Our words lose their bodies

in this ocean of breath.

Sun & moon share

one soul between them,

& you & I

are cut from the same cloth.

The coffee you often

let sit in your cup,

which you probably left for the angels,

I privately pour into my form

to mesh with your silky spirit.

Dear one, you alone know

I am hungry for nothingness,

how my inner voice chants

“let go of everything,

let go of everything!”

Heavy worries, work, mask.

You sent me a twilight reminder,

writing “Let go everything!”

I love how you left out the ‘of.’

“Let go everything!”

Nothing holds us at all.

Neither breath nor false concepts

nor webs of eloquent words.


 


The Author


David Leo Sirois is a Canadian-American poet who wrote & performed in Paris for 7 years. His work has been published in 4 countries (USA, France, England, & the Czech Republic) in several languages. Poems have appeared in journals such as The Poetry Village, The Sunday Tribune Online, The Opiate, Silo, Those That This, THE BASTILLE, Belleville Park Pages, Paris Lit Up, & Terre à Ciel (which also published his translations from the French of Paul Valéry & others). Altogether, he has published 82 pieces, including his work in The Keystone Anthology (Guildford, England), & the anthologies Vignettes & Postcards from Paris, & Becoming Fire: Spiritual Writing from Rising Generations (Boston). He is currently submitting two manuscripts for publication.




David Leo Sirois

252 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page