top of page

Notes from My Life by Harri Aburrow-Newman


Photo by Brett Jordan



I am intensity, curiosity, and creativity. Ambition, acceptance, and logic. Talented, resilient, strong. I will drive across the country if someone I love says they need me. My friendships are few but precious. I'll trust what you tell me until you're caught in a lie, better that than to live in suspicion. Conversations are hard, small talk is painful. But tell me about your passions. I'll listen. I am my own calm in the storm of the world. Where everything hits me at once. I can retreat into silence, and a perfect focus, I strive for perfection because I know that I'm capable. I can manage anxiety, and sensory overload triggered at the drop of a hat. I throw myself into interests with childlike enthusiasm, because life is a game, after all. I see the beauty in the details, in patterns and color, in the order of numbers and science. In the sound of a word, as it repeats on my tongue, making peace in the middle of chaos. I am more than a list, I'm a constellation of stars. My darkness is spangled with light. I can't write a poem about all that I am, I can't be constrained into lines. If I'm a robot, I'm Data with his emotions chip on. Everything intense and overwhelming. But there's persistence in confusion, strength in despair. And I'm only cold if you don't care enough to really look at what's there.


 

The Author


Harri Aburrow-Newman is an English writer, artist, and science geek living on the East coast of Yorkshire, in a house filled with books, beasts, bright colors, and cacti. They like to hide in their loft and write poetry and queer, urban fantasy novels while looking out at the sea.



Harri Abburrow-Newman

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page